Pause for poems

A few days ago I continued watching Desperate Housewives. I’m at the beginning of season 5  so by now I have to admit that I kinda dig it 😀 Anyways, I think it was the last episode of season 4 where one of the characters (more specifically Mrs. McCluskey) recited this poem in honor of her neighbor who had recently passed away. I can’t tell why but for some reason I absolutely LOVE this poem and so I decided to share it with you.

When I heard it in the show I didn’t know what it was called so I had to pause my episode to google it right away. The first version I listened to was read by a man and so I got this idea that it’s really soothing to actually listen to well recited poems. Why don’t we read poems anymore? Personally, I realized that I prefer poems read by men. There’s just something about their relatively deep voice that gets through to me and really calms me down. So I had to search for what seamd like forever until I found a version I liked. But first the poem itself.


It’s called “Do not stand at my grave and weep“:

 

Here’s a little something about the video you’re about to watch. I find the poem pretty sad because, obviously, it’s about someone’s death, but an the other hand it’s somehow light and raises one’s hopes, don’t you think? The way it tells us not to be sad that someone we mourn is still here and therefor with us, maybe in a way we might not fully understand. I find that thought kind of comforting and I think someone who actually suffered a loss might find a little comfort in that though too.

I just realized that the last paragraph wasn’t about the video AT ALL….but here it comes 😀 The VIDEO below isn’t exactly what I was looking for but I like it anyway. It’s really different from my personal interpretation of the poem so I was confused at first but after listening to it for a few times, I have to say that I really like it now.

Check it out for yourself 🙂 (He changed some of the lyrics which kinda bugs me but meh…)

 

So…Are you surprised? Confused? What do you think about this interpretation? It’s really different and HAPPY, right? And that kinda baffled me but then I thought about it and now I think that this interpretation makes sense too. Because wouldn’t you be glad if someone you lost wasn’t actually dead but somehow still there and always around? And here’s the thing, according to this poem you can physically feel them still being here: wind & rain, the sunlight and the stars. I think this is beautiful and it gives me this nice and warm feeling inside…

Please please please share your thoughts on this poem 🙂

One thought on “Pause for poems

  1. Wow, this is such an excellent post. I love poetry, and when I read ‘Desperate Housewives’, I knew exactly which poem you’d be talking about. I actually discussed the poem for school before I saw that episode. By now I’ve finished all eight seasons: it’s a great show. 🙂

    I read in your ‘about’ page that you’re a bit of a newbie at blogging, and although I won’t be very useful, feel free to ask me questions anytime, and I’d be more than happy to help. x Welcome to the ‘Blogosphere’! ❤

    Yasmine//Cloudy

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you're thinking

